A perfect weekend

Posted: 13 de February de 2012 in Sin categoría

(This writing has God involved but is more like a “dear diary” post about last weekend, sorry about that, still you are welcome to read)

Last weekend (feb 11th-12th) was perfect, seriously, thank You, my Lord. This is why I’ll write telling every detail what I did and why it was so important. Last Saturday I went to Paraíso (it means Paradise in Spanish and is the name of a very poor neighborhood in Bogota, where YFC social work is located). They always go there on Saturdays at 8Am and this was like the third or fourth time I went though it was the first one in which I really felt I was doing something important.

It was so funny to have brought a pastoral dynamic (though seemed to be they already knew it but with a different way to sing it): “sígala, sígala pirin pin pin”…  I can’t translate (well, ‘sígala’ = follow it) but it’s a game in which you have to repeat that over and over again and you do a movement while singing it, when you repeat the song, you change of movement and the person to your left or right starts to do the movement you were doing previously. It requires a lot of concentration and we failed in the attempt of teaching it to the kids… Seeing the pictures of that moment makes me laugh.

After that I had the inconvenient with Jessica, I wanted to help her and so I did, but I didn’t realized that is Mafe and other volunteers the ones who are in charge of her since she belongs to the youngest kids group, so when she disappeared because she needed to change her clothes and I went with her to her house, they got worried about her. I was called the attention for this, but anyway I care more about the fact of helping her and of course it won’t happen again.

And at the end I end up playing soccer… I think that (if possible) I’ll be changing from one Saturday to another between the “middle kids” (in age) with whom I usually work and playing soccer with the big ones. I like kids and that’s why I’m there, but I also like soccer and is cool to play with the oldest of the group, one way or another I’m a frustrated sportswoman and I’ve always wanted to improve my physical condition.

I said I’ll be home at 2 o’clock in the afternoon and I couldn’t have made a more exact calculation, at that time I was getting off the bus station that is across the street from where I live. I had lunch and the lady that gets our nails done was here, I got my fingernails and toenails done but without varnish, otherwise I wouldn’t have make it to “El Parche” (4 o’clock). She left like a quarter to 4 o’clock and it was then when I talked to my parents about the email I had sent to my mom telling her what I would like to do with Ricardo as an alternative option to leave in a future all related to psychiatry and the medicine. They support me.

One of the contacts my mom has at where I used to work (she worked there long time ago), told her about the connivance issues I also had at my internship, at least she was told about the problem with music and singing volume. I had to handle this and to neutralize that information because my father was already saying that this had been the real reason to be fired, which is not true. They didn’t know for my mouth nor they will know about the email I got about “Connivance Rules” with specific stuff about me. My mom was told about the music and that I didn’t care about it, but I told her she didn’t know how they told me that nor she can’t say I didn’t care cause that was unfair. Anyway still it was a fruitful conversation.

In “El parche” there was a worship song that for what it says and what I lived last week, it really touched me because is true what it says and I lived: in spite of difficulties God was with me, because of Him, as I wrote on a Fb status, the problem passed by almost as if it were just one more day in my life. I don’t know any the songs that we sing in “El Parche” unless they have been sung before, but the lyrics are always projected with video beam and this one I sang it with all my strengths until I broke (some tears on my face).

What I lived last Monday (not this week but last week), the way I confront it, and the teachings I took from it,  was something I wanted to share in “El Parche”. Because of that, that very same Monday at night, I sent Fercho an email asking him for a space on Saturday to share with everyone what had happened, and he answered me I could do it after Fabian’s 5 minutes of Glory (there’s always 5 minutes in which is someone’s turn to share something of his life or talk about something important related with God). Fabian didn’t arrive on time and it was perfect for me… The previous writing about the Silverlight, I shared it with them in a more summarized  and concrete way with a couple of PPT slides, adding besides a verse that I found on Tuesday or Wednesday because a friend and namesake also from YFC, shared and image on Facebook with key Bible verses and I found the one I needed, it was perfect: “When he calls to me, I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will rescue him and honor him”. Psalms 91 : 15.

“El parche” finished around 6 o’clock in the afternoon and I went to the cinema with Nathy. When I saw Courageous alone, I recommended it to her and she asked me to watch it again with her, so that’s what I did. She also cried several times watching the movie, just like I did the first time I saw it, this time I just felt touched a little bit when the father makes the dance alone and ask God to tell her daughter he did his part of the dance. Saturday finished.

Yesterday I went to the ciclovía on my bike (‘ciclovía’ is something that my city -Bogota- has on Sundays, some main streets becomes only for bicycles and people who want to skate, walk or go out with their dogs), but before that, while I was having breakfast, I remembered the song, I Google it and download it on mp3, I passed it to my cellphone and I put it in repeat mode all my way riding my bike. It was curious that the group that composed or sings that song (now I’m not sure because it exists in English as well, and the credit is given to someone else) is named just like my favorite color: “Grupo Rojo” = “Red Band”… I’m crazy about this color since I remember. Anyway I did a really long trail in my bike and on my way back home I passed by the cinema to buy 2 tickets for Courageous again.

Tomorrow is my best friend birthday but we celebrated it yesterday (just to clarify, he is a guy, in Spanish female and male nouns usually differ by its last vowel, in English that doesn’t happen and right now I wonder if culturally it’s ok to have a best friend from the opposite sex, anyway, he, Tavo, is my best friend). I had lunch with my parents and then bought the cake, we came back to our building and I met with Sergio, we both went in his car to Tavo’s house, there were already Andrés, Valentina, Santiago, and of course Silvia (Tavo’s girlfriend), and Tavo. Edgar arrived and we cut the cake. Then we went to play paintball though because of weather and traffic we arrived a little bit late when it was about to get dark, but we play all what we can and it was really cool. Meanwhile, my parents were watching Courageous, the tickets I bought were for them. My friends and me gave our stuff to the lady of the paintball place so she keep them while we playing, and I put my cellphone in silence. My mom sent me a message through BBM saying “We just went out from the cinema, what an excellent movie though it made me cry”.  My dad called me just when we were out of the game and my purse was handed to me when I saw my cellphone shining, it was my dad and I answered before the call go to voice message. He also said the movie was excellent.

We came back to Bogota (most of paintball places are out of the city, just a few kilometers far),  again traffic in the 7th Avenue and we stopped to eat cobs, some with soda, other with ‘agua de panela’ a traditional drink for cold of my country. Santiago took Valentina to her house and then he left to his. The rest of us went to Tavo’s house again and there Carlos joined us. We had some snacks and they had some beers (I don’t cause I don’t like it, I do like to drink once in a while but sweet drinks, please don’t lecture me about it). Carlos was the first one leaving, then Edgar and finally Sergio, Andrés and me. I arrived home around 11 o’clock.

For all these, it was an excellent weekend, I think the best one of my life, just thank you my Lord.

No me soltarás (Grupo Rojo) You never let go (Matt Redman)
 Aunque yo esté
en el valle de la muerte y dolor
tu amor me quita todo temor…y si llego a estar en el centro de la tempestad,
no dudaré,porque estás aqui.Y no temeré del mal
pues mi Dios conmigo está
y si Dios conmigo está
de quién temeré?No,no me soltarás
en la calma o la tormenta
No,no me soltarás
en lo alto, en lo bajo
No,no me soltarás
Dios nunca me dejarás.Puedo ver la luz
que se acerca
al que busca de ti,
glorioso Dios.Y terminarán los problemas y mientras llega el fin
viviremos conociéndote a tiY no temeré del mal
pues mi Dios conmigo esta,
y si Dios conmigo está
de quién temeré?No,no me soltarás
en la calma o la tormenta
No,no me soltarás
en lo alto, en lo bajo
No,no me soltarás
Dios nunca me dejarás.Puedo ver la luz
que se acerca
al que busca de ti
y terminarán los problemas.Mientras llega el fin
voy a alabarte,
voy a alabarte solo a ti.

Y puedo ver la luz que se acerca
al que busca de ti
y terminaran los problemas.

Mientras llega el fin
voy a alabarte…

No,no me soltarás
en la calma o la tormenta
No,no me soltarás
en lo alto, en lo bajo
No,no me soltarás
Dios nunca me dejarás.

 Even though I walk
through the valley of the shadow of death
Your perfect love is casting out fear
And even when I’m caught in the middle of the storms of this life
I won’t turn back I know you are nearAnd I will fear no evil
For my God is with me
And if my God is with me
Whom then shall I fear?
Whom then shall I fear?
(Chorus:)
Oh no, You never let go
Through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, You never let go
In every high and every low
Oh no, You never let go
Lord, You never let go of meAnd I can see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on
A glorious light beyond all compare
And there will be an end to these troubles
But until that day comes
We’ll live to know You here on the earth(Chorus)Yes, I can see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on
And there will be an end to these troubles
But until that day comes
Still I will praise You, still I will praise You(Chorus 2x’s)e

e

e

e

e

e

e

e

e

e

e

Leave a Reply

