God and parents

Posted: 2 de March de 2012 in Sin categoría

Choose the word of your preference:

a) They

b) We

c) People

…say, as long as they (we) believe in God, that you can’t understand Him with your reason. That has two readings: one is about how the greatness of God is such, that we won’t ever be able to understand Him. The other it’s more a defensive argument for those who reasons not to believe, are based in reason (sorry for being redundant).

So we tell them stuff like: you can’t pretend to understand God’s existence, God’s love, God’s greatness with your reason. Reason is not necessarily the way to the truth, the only way is Him, reason is too small and limited to get Him. You can not expect to demonstrate His existence the same way you find out whom of you children is lying. Your reason is more than enough to discover that kind of trues or lies, but not enough nor even close to what it is necessary to get God. Even talking about “what it is necessary to get Him” is a way of saying that path is long, has no end though you move forward, and is unknown.

I have had my own troubles when it comes to learn and accept the fact that my first connection with God are my parents, not as the ones from whom I got my faith but because they are the representation of God in my life, they are the ones who raised me, the ones who love me the most (btw I’m unique daughter so they love me even more, what to complain about?), they are everything.

They aren’t at the same level of God but just because they are human, the rest is pretty much the same. So this is something Fercho has been telling us several times and I always know where and how those words fit and apply in my life… He says we can not expect to have a good relationship with God if we don’t have it with our parents either.

If so far you are pleased or almost in love of what I wrote (agree), then my apology if I disappoint you, I know I will. Just because despite the beautiful words above, I’m a girl of 22 and not exactly a role model. I’m not a bad person but either a good daughter. I haven’t put in actions anything of what you just read. I confront my parents, disobey them or show an attitude in which you can read the message “leave me alone”.

Things are complex, it is not just saying “I know this is wrong”, click your fingers and everything changes…

Anyway my point is, back to what Fernando says (and with my own additions-interpretations), that parents comparison to God it is not just about how them are the bridge to come close to Him, but also that their love for us is as big as the one God has for us, and by big I don’t mean the measure of it but the impossibility to understand some stuff that only love can explain. You can not understand reasonably the love of your parents, just in the same way you can not understand God.

Some people are so linked to the world of self reasonable thinking, me included. And we fall in the mistake to put everything under reason’s look, we believe that is the best way to “win”, to show ppl that what I believe is right and should be understood and respected. I don’t wanna say they rest is wrong, but I demand some respect on my own stuff and what they mean to me.

Well this rational thinking has taken me to put under reason’s look not exactly the relationships with my parents (as if reason were the best or unique judge), but to give it the command to tell me what to do or say when I talk to them and the subject is a matter of quarrel. You know like “this is the fast and better way to be victorious”.

Heart is repressed, heart is protected. My family is everything to me, is so important, is my cornerstone, I’m no one without them. So if to me they are so important, why would I put in bet my heart and my feelings when we fight? No way, I rather take them out and play with the wise reason… Well “the wise reason” has also the power to hurt, and for that, heart and feelings play the role of consciousness. Reason can try to play both roles but is not successful… I know that the last two emails I sent to my mom, though I meant well, I wasn’t rude and I pretended to explain some important points with no intents to hurt her, I kind of did cause it was the cold reason talking.

Recently I wrote about the same topic saying that when love for someone is so big, we only expect good things from that person; when what we get from them is wrong or unexpected, we get hurt…

So I recognize what are my faults, now I need to face them and work on them.

Leave a Reply

