I’m beloved

Posted: 20 de February de 2012 in Sin categoría

Have you heard Jason Gray’ song “Remind me who I am”? is pretty new or maybe not much, Google just told me that his last album, ‘A Way To See In The Dark’ was released in September 13, 2011. But you know, I’m from Colombia, no one knows him here as far as I know, or if he is known here (I’m not the most wise person when it comes to music), I’m pretty sure his album hasn’t been released here or maybe will never be. Anyway I found his song by casualty. ‘Remind me who I am’ Jesus Christ!, what a powerful song and you die when you watch the video on Youtube…  it says a lot.

Now, how I get to this song? well, as I said before, I like to do my own research and yesterday I ended up and in a Christian radio online (Klove Radio). I heard it for a while and I downloaded three songs that I heard there, well actually two besides the one from Jason that I paid for. The other two I downloaded them for free. One is ‘Everlasting God’ by Lincoln Brewster and ‘Mountain of God’ by Third Day. I not just downloaded the mp3 versions of these songs but also the video, not the official one (except in Jason’s case) but a video with the song to upload it again and add it Spanish captions (annotations). I haven’t put Spanish subtitles to Mountain of God, and because of that I’m not gonna talk about it in this post, I haven’t paid much attention to it yet. However I will talk about the other two.

Everlasting God by Lincoln Brewster has a very short but clear message. It touched me because at the end of it there’s a child talking about God and his or her voice is so sweet, here, listen to that part.e

There’s also a video in which Lincoln tells how he created the song and the main fact of the story is that the song is based on Isaiah 40, 28-31.

“Have you not known? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint”.

And that’s pretty much what I have to say about this song. Now about ‘Remind me who I am’ by Jason Gray. In my research of him and his song I checked his site, also his Facebook page, also the one from where you can pay and download the whole album or song by song, and the Facebook page of The Remind Me Project. I didn’t know anything about him till yesterday, I wasn’t even aware of his existence, but I found pretty interesting the fact of him being stutterer and how he says on his Facebook page that he made of that a strength to praise God. That’s awesome… let me bring from there what exactly says:

“One of the first things you should know about me is that I suffer from a speech handicap known as stuttering. But instead of it being a liability, I’ve found it to be a great asset in the work I get to do. Our weakness, if we let it, can give us access to a strength beyond ourselves. Over and over we see the principle that it’s through our weakness that God’s strength is perfected in our lives”.

The song is so catchy and his voice is really beautiful, I hadn’t paid much attention to it beyond the chorus before putting subtitles to the video, I hadn’t either checked the video really, you know I just downloaded it and uploaded it again without paying attention to it, but when I did… Oh boy!, it was and it is really awesome. Here, let’s take a look and then I’ll tell you about The Remind Me Project.

e

e

You have to pay attention to it carefully. Now if you did, let me tell you what The Remind Me Project is. You see, the whole message of the song and video is that it doesn’t matter what we are, were, did or do in our lives, the only thing that matters is that we are God’s beloved. So The Remind Me Project is a Facebook Page in which Jason invites people to take a picture of themselves with the label “Beloved” and the caption “I used to be —– now I am BELOVED”  or any other positive word that you are in Christ. I did it so, and here is mine:
e

I used to be alone and rejected, I also used to be bipolar, but now I'm beloved.

e

I hope it doesn’t sound or seem as if I were being too hard on myself. It is just that loneliness someway has been like a characteristic in my life (starting with school as I said in a previous post) and it is not about thinking something like “Oh God, I’m alone in the world, I’m gonna die”, it is something that goes beyond like on my essence? I don’t know, it is hard to explain but I have friends, of course, and things are way much better now at least in this subject, seriously, thank You, God.

Now about being bipolar… well I do have some psychiatric history on that and I don’t like to talk much about it. I’ve been interned twice and I’m on meds now but last Saturday I started a psycho-therapeutic process (with a psychologist) that will help me to leave in the future everything related with psychiatry. However I don’t really believe my diagnosis, and anyway I just wanna say this:

“I’m beloved, and just because of that, what I don’t like in my life is gonna change”… I’M NOT BIPOLAR, I’M GOD’S BELOVED and that’s all what matters.

Now, if you wanna check The Remind Me Project Facebook page go ahead and join the cause.

Leave a comment